Sinclair locks down local broadcast rights for 16 NBA teams

at to broadcast 16 NBA team games to fans in local markets. The company, which aims to launch a standalone streaming service this year, previously secured local rights for some NHL and MLB teams, but the deal is a major piece of the puzzle.

The deal covers the Atlanta Hawks, Charlotte Hornets, Cleveland Cavaliers, Dallas Mavericks, Detroit Pistons, Indiana Pacers, LA Clippers, Memphis Grizzlies, Miami Heat, Milwaukee Bucks, Minnesota Timberwolves, New Orleans Pelicans, Oklahoma City Thunder, Orlando Magic, Phoenix Suns and the San Antonio Spurs.

The service, which is debuting in the first half of the year, is expected to be quite expensive north of $ 20 per month, according to . However, it should give fans a way to see their local teams if the games aren’t broadcast nationally or if they can’t watch Sinclair’s Bally Sports Regional Sports Networks (RSNs). These networks are not available on or, for example. Local games are generally blocked in all cases, including on NBA League Pass.

Sinclair acquired a batch of RSN Fox Sports as part of the Fox acquisition. The RSNs were later renamed Bally Sports.

All products recommended by Engadget are selected by our editorial team, independent of our parent company. Some of our stories include affiliate links. If you buy something through any of these links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen − 4 =