The last time Tottenham Hotspur won a trophy? How many times have Spurs claimed silverware?

The last time Tottenham Hotspur won a trophy? How many times have Spurs claimed silverware?

Tottenham’s silverware hunt has been well documented over the past decade as the club have become a regular contender for the trophy in England and Europe.

While Spurs hibernated as a mid-table team for most of the 90s, Spurs broke through as a top club in the early 2000s and began to constantly fight for European places. from 2010 with a fourth place. Since then, Spurs have not finished worse than seventh in the Premier League.

Yet modern silverware has eluded Spurs as the club continue to seek a major title. Despite a sixth place in the league at the start of the new year, Antonio Conte has Spurs on the hunt this season as the London side are still alive in the FA Cup.

However, the elimination suffered in the Carabao Cup semi-final at the hands of Chelsea makes one wonder how long it will take:

When was the last time Tottenham won a trophy?

Spurs have won silverware in the past, but it’s been a while. The most recent trophy the club won was the Coupe de la Ligue in 2008 (Carling Cup, later called the Carabao Cup), beating Chelsea 2-1 in the extra-time final.

MORE: Where to watch the Premier League

Goals from Dimitar Berbatov and Jonathan Woodgate helped Spurs advance in this game, with the latter coming four minutes into extra time. Notable names in Spurs’ roster for this game include Jermaine Jenas and Robbie Keane, with Ledley King as captain and England international Paul Robinson in the goal. They beat Petr Cech, Didier Drogba and Frank Lampard who all started the game for Chelsea.

As the final approached, Spurs dominated Middlesbrough, Blackpool and Manchester City by 2-0. They went on to dominate north London rival Arsenal in the semi-finals. Spurs drew 1-1 at the Emirates ahead of the decisive second leg, a 5-1 win that drove them to 6-2 on aggregate.

What trophies have Tottenham won?

Ahead of the 2007-08 EFL Cup victory, Spurs have a number of competitive wins to their credit, but most of them came some time ago.

Tottenham won an FA Cup in 1991, edging Roy Keane and Nottingham Forest in the final 2-1, as well as in overtime. Terry Venables was in charge and picked Gary Lineker to start for Spurs up front, but the winner came via an own goal as Des Walker put the ball into his own net.

MORE: Top 10 Winter Transfer Targets

The last league title dates back to 1961, when the top five were completed by Sheffield Wednesday, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Burnley and Everton.

Tottenham Hotspur Trophies

Competetion Season Finalist
First division 1950-51
Man United (by 4 points)
Sheff. Wednesday (by 8 points)
Second division 1919-20
Huddersfield Town (by 6 points)
Sheff. Wednesday (by 9 points)
England Cup 1900-01
Sheff. United (3-1 in the final)
Wolverhamton (1-0 in the final)
Leicester City (2-0 in the final)
Burnley (3-1 in the final)
Chelsea (2-1 in the final)
Man City (3-2 in the final)
QPR (1-0 in final replay)
Nottingham Forest (2-1 in the final)
Ligue’s cup
(EFL Cup)
Aston Villa (2-0 in the final)
Norwich City (1-0 in the final)
Leicester City (1-0 in the final)
Chelsea (2-1, aet in the final)
Uefa cup
(European League)
Wolverhampton (3-2 overall)
Anderlecht (2-2 overall, 4-3 PK)

How many finals have Spurs played?

Spurs have also come close to winning silverware on several other occasions besides the 14 Cup Finals listed above.

In fact, Tottenham have had a number of close calls recently, losing three times in the EFL Cup Final since they last lifted the trophy in 2008. More recently, Spurs fell to Manchester City in the 2021 final, losing 1-0 thanks to a goal. by defender Aymeric Laporte. Spurs also lost in the 2015 edition and in the 2009 final.

MORE: Premier League top scorers

In the FA Cup, Spurs were very successful in reaching the final. They only lost once, in 1987, while winning the competition the other eight times they reached the final.

Famously, Tottenham also lost in the UEFA Champions League final to Liverpool in 2019, losing 2-0 in the club’s first foray this far into the tournament range.

Tottenham Hotspur finalist

Competetion Season Champion
First division
(Premier league)
Liverpool (by 6 points)
Man United (by 4 points)
Man United (by 8 points)
Everton (by 6 points)
Chelsea (by 7 points)
Second division 1908-09
Bolton Wanderers (by 1 point)
Stoke City (by 1 point)
England Cup 1986-87 Coventry City (3-2 aet in the final)
Ligue’s cup 1981-82
Liverpool (3-1 in the final)
Blackburn (2-1 in the final)
Man United (0-0 aet, 4-1 PKs)
Chelsea (2-0 in the final)
Man City (1-0 in the final)
UEFA Champions League 2018-19 Liverpool (2-0 in the final)
Uefa cup 1973-74 Feyenoord (4-2 overall)

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 × 1 =